More about you… and your internal orchestra


I love that we all have history.  The challenge, I believe is to view all

Whatever you spend the most time thinking about is what you spend the most time experiencing - Wenda O'Neill

of our history, the good and the bad, as part of our personal orchestra.  We are the conductor.  We stand silent waiting at the podium.  Our conductors stick pinched between our fingers; both hands up, in the ready position.  Slowly our hands and hearts weave a tale through the instruments we accept and choose.

I want to write about harboring resentment and negative feelings.  I want to talk about how a constant feeling of “lacking and limitation” are your enemy to happiness.  They are the enemy to creating beautiful music.  I mean….  even the thunder of the timpani when it’s placed in a musical storm is … magic… however, if the timpani was CONSTANTLY playing, I mean… always thundering through… during sunny spring days… during midnight black nights…  all you hear is the thunder of the booming timpani.

Well, for one, you’d have a headache.  AND The more you pay attention to the timpani, the more you hear it.. the more you concentrate on the timpani… the louder it becomes.

I say, let go of the timpani.  Acknowledge it… accept it… let it go.

With a flick of your conductors wrist start to accept the oboe, or flute or violin.

Eventually the thundering of the timpani will be a distant memory and the chirping of the piccolo will lighten your heart.

I’ve written about the Law of Concentration and the Law of Cause and Effect and the Law of Attraction before… and without going into all of them again, I will say this:

That what you spend the most time thinking about is what you will spend the most time experiencing. 🙂

So, what to do?  What to do when you feel stuck listening to the thundering boom of the timpani?

Practice thankfulness. Each Morning (and throughout the day) come up with 10 things you are thankful for.

Count them out

Say them silently or out-loud – Here’s my list, right now.

  1. My sleeping kids
  2. Hot coffee
  3. My new lawn mower
  4. the chirping birds
  5. The great barbecue yesterday
  6. My readers (smile, ’cause that’s you!)
  7. VF (a particularly inspiring client)
  8. My Success
  9. The hot water for the shower
  10. Clifford our big red car

When I say my list, I breath deeply and I take a few moments to really appreciate each item and the feeling I have being thankful for each one.

Each day is a little different, and each day that starts off with thankfulness seems to really start right.  Being thankful is like taking vitamins, you may not notice right away that you missed a day… but eventually it will catch up with you.

And so… I say, Thank YOU for reading my post.

Have an amazing day!

Leave a Reply

